Kansai Route Map

Kansai (関西) or Kinki (近畿) lies in the southern-central region of Japan's main island, Honshu. It includes the prefectures of Osaka, Kyoto, Nara, Hyogo, Wakayama and Shiga. The Kansai area is the second most populous area of Japan, after the Kanto Area.

Kansai abounds with Japanese historical attractions, such as temples and shrines, since Kansai is including the ancient capitals of Kyoto and Nara. These days Japanese people often compare Kansai with Kanto, which includes Tokyo. In this case Kansai, basically, means Osaka. For example, Kansai vs Kanto dialects, food and art – for example, Manzai which is slapstick and wisecracks by a comedy duo.

People from other regions tend to think of Kansai people as comedians, because Kansai people speak with a distinct dialect … like comedians. Osaka with its “regular guy” atmosphere is one of the great places to sample Japanese urban life in all its mind-boggling intensity, while Wakayama, or other places away from Osaka, have so many beautiful rural areas you might be confused which deep mountains you are in. Nowadays Kyoto is mixed with the modern and the traditional sides of Japan.

Osaka Kyoto

Osaka (大阪) is a major industrial, port and economic centre and is also famous for its food representing Kuidaore-no machi (city where you eat till you drop), Osaka.
Osaka Travel Guide


Kyoto (京都) was the capital of Japan for over a millennium, and carries a reputation as its most beautiful city. It boasts the largest numbers of national treasures, important cultural properties, special historical sites, and places of scenic beauty as of 2003.
Kyoto Travel Guide


Nara Hyogo

There had been ancient capitals in this area of Japan since the founding of the Yamato Kingdom of the 3rd century until the transfer of the capital to Nagaoka in 784.
It boasts the largest number of buildings designated as National Treasures, with 62 total buildings, the second largest being 48 in Kyoto.
Nara Travel Guide


Hyogo has the world's longest suspension bridge, Akashi Kaikyo Ohashi, with a center span of 1,991 meters. There are scenic spots like the Seto Inland Sea National Park, the San-in Kaigan Coast National Park and Awaji-shima Island. It also has numerous cultural heritage spots, for example the Himeji Castle, which is classified as a World Heritage Site.
Hyogo Travel Guide


Shiga Wakayama

Shiga (滋賀) is a prefecture in the Kansai region and is located almost in the center of Japan's main island of Honshu. Lake Biwa, Japan's largest lake, lies in the center of Shiga.
Shiga Travel Guide


Wakayama (和歌山) is a prefecture in Kansai region and is located in the southwestern part of the Kii Peninsula and faces the Pacific Ocean.The mysterious mountains in Wakayama have attracted many people as a sacred ground since ancient times. Mt. Koya and Kumano Kodo have been registered as World Heritage Sites. Wakayama Travel Guide


Where do you want to go in Kansai?

How to get to and around Kansai

From Kansai international airport
Shinkansen route
Japan Railways
Highway bus route

Subway lines in Kansai
Buses in Kansai

Related Page

What you need in Japan and before/after in Japan

Things you need once you are in Japan!?
Find more...